Gyms, climbing and jiu-jitsu in San Jose. Silicon Valley has apps for everything except showing up.
Short answer: San Jose has $25 day passes at a kickboxing gym and a climbing gym, a free 2-day jiu-jitsu trial and a free one-day pass at Crunch. American Kickboxing Academy sells a $25 day pass, The Studio climbing gym charges $25 before 3 PM and $30 after, Caio Terra Academy offers a free 2-day trial (Bay Area residents), Crunch Winchester offers a free one-day pass, and Anytime Fitness runs 24-hour clubs with a free trial. The City of San Jose also lists a $5.50 adult drop-in at its community-center fitness rooms.
You work in a city that builds the future, so your squat rack should not be the thing that needs a software update. Here is what each place says in public, so you can try first and sign later.
$25
day pass at American Kickboxing Academy (adult classes plus weight room) and at The Studio climbing gym before 3 PM
Free
2-day BJJ trial at Caio Terra Academy, which says it covers all programs and is for Bay Area residents
Free
one-day gym pass at Crunch Fitness Winchester, with full facility access and a coached kickoff session
At a glance
Compare in 10 seconds
From each business’s own page or license record, checked November 2, 2026. Prices and hours change, so confirm before you go.
Move in San Jose compared
Place
Type
From
Try it
Good fit for
American Kickboxing Academy
Boxing, Muay Thai, kickboxing, MMA
$25 day pass
Drop-in day pass
Striking, weekday evenings
The StudioTouchstone Climbing
Climbing gym
$25 / $30 day pass
—
Downtown climbing, late weeknights
Caio Terra Academy San Jose
Brazilian jiu-jitsu
—
Free 2-day trial
Early-morning BJJ, no-gi
Ralph Gracie Jiu Jitsu San Jose
Brazilian jiu-jitsu
—
Free Trial sign-up (terms not stated)
Gi and no-gi, daily classes
Guerrilla Jiu Jitsu HQ
Brazilian jiu-jitsu
—
—
Downtown San Carlos St.
CrossFit Silicon Valley
CrossFit
—
Free trial button (terms not stated)
Coached group training, 5 AM start
Anytime Fitness (The Alameda)
24-hour gym
—
Free trial offered
Odd-hours training
Anytime Fitness (Branham Lane)
24-hour gym
—
Free trial offered
South-side, odd-hours training
Crunch Fitness WinchesterCrunch Fitness
Full-service gym
$18.99/month listed
Free one-day pass
Late weeknights, recovery area
24 Hour Fitness San Jose (Crane Ct)24 Hour Fitness
Full-service gym, pool
—
—
Pool and classes
“—” means the source we checked doesn’t list it, not that the place never offers it.
Where to go
Move in San Jose
No paid placements. Each place is here for a stated reason, with the source we checked on November 2, 2026.
American Kickboxing Academy
Boxing + Muay Thai
$25 day pass
Weight room access
Boxing, Muay Thai, kickboxing, sparring and MMA classes from beginner to advanced, with a published drop-in rate.
Why it’s here. A full drop-in price list on the gym’s own site, so you can try a week before committing to a month.
Price
$25 day pass; $85 weekly; $300 monthly. Passes cover regular adult classes plus the weight room and cardio equipment. Adults only.
Hours
Mon–Thu · 3:30–9 PM Fri 4–8 PM; closed Sat and Sun.
How
Call 408-225-9000 to schedule your classes before you come in. Passes can be bought online or in person and start when you check in.
Climbing gym in downtown San Jose, part of Touchstone Climbing.
Why it’s here. Open until 10 PM on weeknights with a published day-pass price, in the middle of downtown.
Price
Day pass $25 before 3 PM Mon–Fri, $30 after 3 PM. A $10 pass is listed for people with California EBT/Medi-Cal and photo ID through Access to Climbing.
Hours
Mon–Fri · 10 AM–10 PM Sat and Sun 10 AM–5 PM.
How
Buy a day pass at the front desk. The page links to a separate first-visit page that was not checked.
Brazilian jiu-jitsu academy with adult BJJ, kids and teens, and a fitness-and-weights program.
Why it’s here. Two free days on the mat instead of one, and classes starting early enough to fit before work.
Price
Prices are on the site’s Pricing page (not checked).
Hours
Mon–Fri classes from about 6:15 AM A posted September 2024 weekly schedule showed classes from 6:15–6:30 AM to 7:15 PM weekdays and a 10 AM Saturday class. Check the current Schedule page.
How
Book the free 2-day trial from the website. The site says it covers all programs and is available to Bay Area residents only.
Classes run seven days a week The gym’s site gives no class times on its main page and links to a schedule page that could not be read. A BJJ directory lists Tue and Thu from 6 AM, but notes the owner had not verified those times.
How
Use the Free Trial button on the gym’s site. The page does not describe what the trial includes; confirm with the gym.
CrossFit gym on Lincoln Ave with a free-trial button and a drop-in option on its own site.
Why it’s here. Early weekday hours and a free-trial link on the gym’s own site, for coached group training.
Price
Prices not published on the pages checked. The site mentions flexible membership options without amounts.
Hours
Mon, Wed · 5 AM–8 PM Tue 5 AM–7 PM, Thu 5–7:30 PM, Fri 5–6:30 PM, Sat 7–11:30 AM, Sun 8–10 AM. These are the gym’s office hours; class times are on its schedule page.
How
Use the Book Free Trial or Drop In links on the gym’s site, or call (669) 247-7726. The site doesn’t describe the trial’s length or terms.
Why it’s here. A second 24-hour option for the south side, with a free trial on the branch page.
Price
Membership prices not listed; the club says memberships are customized.
Hours
Members: 24/7 The office is listed as closed every day; call for desk hours.
How
Use the “Try us free” button on the club page, or call (408) 790-1790. The offer includes an Apple Fitness+ trial; terms, conditions and restrictions apply.
Large gym near Santana Row with weights, a HIIT zone, group classes, personal training and a recovery area with HydroMassage.
Why it’s here. A free one-day pass with full access, a stated monthly price, and weekday hours until 11 PM.
Price
Listed from $18.99 a month (Base tier). The page’s own summary text says memberships start at $14.99, so the two figures conflict; confirm before you join.
Hours
Mon–Fri · 5 AM–11 PM Sat–Sun 7 AM–7 PM.
How
Claim the one-day pass on the club page, or call (408) 478-2800. The pass includes a complimentary coached kickoff session. Members can bring a friend free to their home club.
Full-service gym with a pool, free weights, cycling and group classes, listed through the Wellhub partner platform.
Why it’s here. A pool and full class schedule in a gym, which most of the other picks here don’t have. Details come from a partner listing, so verify them.
Price
No gym price is published on the page checked. Wellhub lists access plans starting at $11.99 a month for its Starter plan; that is a Wellhub price, not a gym membership price.
Hours
Mon · 5 AM–11:59 PM Tue–Thu 5 AM–10 PM, Fri 5 AM–8 PM, Sat–Sun 8 AM–8 PM. Per the Wellhub listing; hours may change on holidays.
How
Confirm hours and day-pass options with the club before you go. The Wellhub page lists no phone number and no day-pass offer. Ages 12–17 may enter only with a parent or guardian.
Paraphrased from public discussions, with links. Not endorsements.
Can I try jiu-jitsu in San Jose without paying?Caio Terra Academy says it offers a free 2-day trial of all its programs to Bay Area residents. Ralph Gracie’s site has a Free Trial sign-up button but doesn’t describe the offer, so confirm what it covers. Caio Terra Academy San Jose ↗
Is there a cheap way to lift without a membership?The City of San Jose lists a $5.50 adult drop-in at its community-center fitness centers (Almaden, Bascom, Camden, Mayfair, Roosevelt and Seven Trees), or $10 a month. The page gives no street addresses or hours, so check each center. Crunch Winchester also offers a free one-day pass. City of San Jose ↗
Where can I drop in for a day pass?American Kickboxing Academy sells a $25 day pass, and The Studio climbing gym lists $25 before 3 PM and $30 after. American Kickboxing Academy ↗
Before you book
Make the first visit easy
Call before you drop in
AKA wants you to call 408-225-9000 to schedule classes first, and BJJ schedules change often. A two-minute call saves a wasted drive.
Ask what a free trial covers
Several gyms here show a free-trial button without saying how long it lasts or what it includes. Confirm the terms before you show up.
Trainers aren’t state-licensed
California does not license personal trainers, so ask any trainer which certification they hold and check it with the certifying body.
On NOCTI
Independent professionals in San Jose
Message independent professionals directly. NOCTI doesn’t take bookings or payments.
No NOCTI professional lists this service in San Jose yet.
A NOCTI profile is not by itself a license, identity or background check.
Quick answers
FAQ
How much is a day pass at the San Jose city gyms?
The City of San Jose lists a $5.50 adult drop-in day pass at its community-center fitness centers, plus $10 monthly and $100 annual memberships. The page lists no street addresses or hours.
What does American Kickboxing Academy charge to drop in?
AKA lists $25 for a day pass, $85 for a weekly pass and $300 for a monthly pass. Passes cover adult classes and the weight room; you must call to schedule classes.
How much is a day pass at The Studio climbing gym?
The Studio lists $25 before 3 PM on weekdays and $30 after 3 PM. It is open Mon–Fri 10 AM–10 PM and weekends 10 AM–5 PM.
Is there a 24-hour gym in San Jose?
Anytime Fitness on The Alameda and on Branham Lane both list 24-hour member access and a free trial on their club pages.
Listings checked November 2, 2026. NOCTI is not affiliated with the businesses listed and receives nothing for listing them. Ratings and reviews belong to their platforms; follow the links to read them. This guide is general information, not medical advice.